WRITING AWAY

Some Run,

Others only roll,

Yet some just sit here and Hide.

 

When ducked back in my cell,

The only real tell,

Are the words that

I jot down with pride.

 

They yell in the morning

And throughout the night

Sometimes it’s the girls locked inside

But usually speaking,

Their cries are all quiet,

It is my thoughts that are

Yelling with fright.

 

The future is scary,

If yours isn’t, I am sorry,

My mind wants new pieces to fit.

Yet thinking comes easy, but

The actions can prosper

As long as my plans don’t just sit.

 

So I’ll keep writing away

With new pencils each day

Creating a new world ahead.

And maybe, just maybe Jesus will see

And bring my worries to end.

 

Brittney Barber

Leave a Reply

