“The Love Of A Poet At Work”

I asked a friend to take a poem that I had written

and hold it up to the light as if it were a color slide.

 

Or maybe even press an ear against the window.

 

As I am suddenly frightened because I was spooked

when  someone dropped a mouse near my feet and

then as I watched him move his way out.

 

Or walk inside of a dark room and feel the walls for

a light switch.

 

Then I wanted to go waterskiing across the surface of

A distant shore while waving at the author whose name

Was written on the beaches of the sandy shore.

 

All I want to do is sit on a lawn chair on the pool deck

And enjoy hearing a friend that loved writing poems.

 

Ms. Camille Edwards

One thought on ““The Love Of A Poet At Work”

Leave a Reply

