I Have No Idea…

Life is so precious, and time is so rare

you really have to think about it

in order to care.

so many days just pass us by

so many lives with no reason why

to keep on living,

to see another day,

Is there a purpose?

Is there a way?

 

… … I Have No Idea…..

 

So I keep on fighting

and press through the night

Sometimes I just want to quit.

but then… there’s that damn light

 

A tiny little speck, at the end of the road

it’s why I can’t give up

“you’ll never make it,” I’m told

 

I try to shut it out

another drink, another hit

standing on the edge, I can’t jump

What the hell is it?!

 

Thoughts run through my head

but what if?….Someday…

I’ll find my purpose!

I’ll find my way!

 

I’ve figured it out!

This crazy, persistent light.

It’s hope! It’s Hope!

Shining through the night!

 

It’s why I can’t give up

and these thoughts run through my head

It’s why I am still breathing

even though I should be dead

 

I know there is purpose

I know there is a way 

I know I will be stronger

and we can all shine that bright someday

 

So as we travel this road 

we fall, we get chipped

but each new cut

allows more light to shine through it

 

We can’t see it now

because there’s no looking back 

but someday when we get there 

we’ll smile on our path

 

a path so crooked,

so worn and so sharp

and we’ll shine bright for others

still lost in the dark

 

because our lives are so precious

and time is so rare

we have to think about it

we have to care

 

so many people just pass us by

so many lives with no reason why

to keep on living

to see another day

 

show them a reason 

show them a way

 

….This is the idea…. Hope.

 

-Mae

Leave a Reply

