People Say

People say I should forget, go on with my life.  Let the past lie exactly there.  Forge ahead, get over the strife.  Yes that makes sense to a certain extent, yet myself on this journey I’ve sent…. To hurdle the fences and cross the bridge, to stand firm, stand strong and soberly live.  To forge ahead I can agree, but to leave the past, would be leaving me, the hurts, the pains, the sorrows, the shame, on my heart these things are seared… To leave them would be further feared.  To not remember where I rose from, to not remember how low my head hung.  Now held high, a new spark in my eye, a renewed being, a bright future I’m seeing.  So forget the past, I think not, ‘cause from it a new life is brought.

 

-Milly Rachel

 

One thought on “People Say

  1. If we forget the past, we will probably repeat it. To forget the past is to have dementia, and who the heck wants that? The past is just a part of who we are, but who we are at the moment does not depend on the past. We can start each day and reinvent who we are. We can change bad habits and learn new, more positive ways of dealing with life. Keep writing, it will help you find where you want to go.

Leave a Reply

