Lost Soul

I remember when I was new to the street, feeling lost as well as defeat.  Long ago it was, still fresh in my mind, no matter the date or even the time.  Beaten down drugged out overwhelmed with shame I entertained the thought of blowing out my brain.

My mother’s voice I heard in my ear, the reflection I saw as well as the tears.  It’s not over yet as I sit with this fear wishing tomorrow was already here.  

I remember when I was new to the scene, a different town with shoes on my feet.

Older now and wiser to ways that would amaze family, I’m no longer the same.

The Soul is still lost, no longer feeling the shame, knowing only it’s my self I blame

My heart I give with each step I take in the direction that has sealed my fate. 

Always lost though not confused, It’s the life I live, the one I choose.

 

-Helen Rich

One thought on “Lost Soul

Leave a Reply

