DON’T

Don’t tell me you’ve been there

Or know my pain

‘Cause if you did, unlike me

Would you still be sane?

A child with nightmares come

To life

When a caress in the dark is

Worse than the blade of a

Knife.

Have you ever trusted with all

Your might

Only to feel the fear and flinch

When they come to sight?

 

Don’t tell me it will be okay

‘Cause you weren’t the one bruised

And battered day after day.

What does “I love you” mean

To you?

Well for years it reminded me

Of all they would do

The pain has faded but the

Memories are all the same

So how can you comfort me when

You have not a clue, where

I’ve been or from where I

Came?

 

by, Lonnie

One thought on “DON’T

  1. This line perfectly captures exactly how twisted it is to hurt a child and how defenseless they are in their innocence:

    “What does “I love you” mean To you?
    Well for years it reminded me Of all they would do”

Leave a Reply

