DITCHES

Tonight I will sleep in a ditch

And for a bottle I will itch

And when I finally awake

I’ll wonder for whose fucking sake

And today when I panhandle in your town

I will cast my eyes up from the ground

And I will look to you and say

Could there be a better way

 

And on my train I will go

To which town…. I don’t know

And when I get there I will drink

And yea I know I fucking stink

But really who are you to judge me

Yet who am I to choose this way to be

For tonight I will sleep in a ditch

But at least I feel rich

 

by, Puke

 

One thought on “DITCHES

  1. The opening lines of this…

    “Tonight I will sleep in a ditch
    And for a bottle I will itch
    And when I finally awake
    I’ll wonder for whose fucking sake”

    …are the same cadence as that bedtime prayer, “As I lay me down to sleep, I pray the lord my soul to keep. And, if i die before i wake, I pray the lord my soul to take.” which I think is pretty fantastic because it made me have both sets of verses, with their extreme opposite images and meanings, going in my head at the same time.

Leave a Reply

