Misunderstood

At times I feel misunderstood, the things I say, actions I take I feel unsure of myself,

Wondering if God does in fact make mistakes.

I’m talked about and criticized from the way I look and how I talk, the way I dress, the way I walk.  My past that haunts me, the drugs, the lies, the thief in me, the little girl I tend to set free.

And so I try to make you understand that who I am now is not who I was then.

Yet you whisper behind closed doors, look at me with contempt and scorn, leave me at times stuck in the past wanting to be ‘good’ but torn.

I think and I bend my knee, try hard to find my faith, refuse to run back inside myself that place is no longer safe.

I remember where I have been, all I do not miss takes everything in me not to give you my ass to kiss, I continue doing me, living life in the positive, I’ve taken enough and now I choose to give.

Give you what I’ve gotten, a sense of self, a sense of peace within, pick and choose my battles with every intent to win.

It is not that I’m misunderstood, see I’m doing the best I can.  I don’t think you get where I am.  I think it’s you who misunderstands, I’m in this jail due to crimes I’ve committed, and locked up with others who can’t see, that inside my soul as each day passes I am that much more free!

by, Frankie

One thought on “Misunderstood

  1. For me this poem is about the things in life that no one can take away from us – our hard-won faith, dignity and commitment to focus on what we CAN change. It inspired me, thanks.

Leave a Reply

